Tag Archives: Databases

Getty launches full text web site for art history research

LA Times.

“When UC Santa Barbara professor Ann Jensen Adams, known for her work on 17th century Dutch painting, was given the chance to try a new research website from the Getty last week, she first typed in the name of a major artist and author in the search field: Karel van Mander. She was surprised to find online a full-text version of Van Mander’s 1604 masterpiece, “Het Schilder-Boeck” (Book of Painters), which attempted to introduce Dutch and German painters like Vasari’s classic “Lives of the Artists” did for so many Italians. “Up came the work on the first hit,” she said. “When I looked at who scanned the text, I realized it had been [online] for a while. But without this portal as a consolidator of information, I never would have found it.”

Comments Off on Getty launches full text web site for art history research

Archive of ancient British “filofaxes” goes online

Reuters – “A remarkable archive of antique manuscripts which opens a window on to the experiences, hopes, fears and interests of people who lived during the 15th to 18th centuries has been put online.”

Access the archive

Comments Off on Archive of ancient British “filofaxes” goes online

UK Political Database

Telegraph – “Telegraph.co.uk’s UK Political Database helps you find all the information on your constituency and its candidates in the forthcoming 2010 General Election and beyond.”

Direct to the database. More here and here

Leave a Comment

Your tax dollars at work: Detailed database online

Denver Post – “Treasurer Cary Kennedy’s efforts to show Coloradans how their money is spent will help keep government accountable.”

Access the database here

Comments Off on Your tax dollars at work: Detailed database online

Oregon puts consumer complaints data online

Oregon Live – “The Oregon attorney general’s office has put its complaints database online, meaning consumers can better research companies before deciding where to take their business. Entries on the database, which contains complaints received since Jan. 1, 2008, do not include consumers’ names and offer limited information, such as a company’s address, the general category of the complaint and whether it was resolved.”

Access the database

Comments Off on Oregon puts consumer complaints data online

Online Speech Database

Vesna Jaksic – “The Citizen Media Law Project has unveiled the Legal Threats Database, a collection of a growing number of lawsuits, cease-and-desist letters and other legal challenges faced by those engaging in online speech.” (via)

Comments Off on Online Speech Database

Library Databases – Use Them

The Record – “Importantly, the information is all good quality, unlike much of what turns up by Googling, said Brooks Kirkland.”

Leave a Comment

© Copyright 2016, Information Today, Inc., All rights reserved.